The Resolution on «Permanent Neutrality of Turkmenistan» was adopted at the 50th session of the United Nations General Assembly on December 12, 1995, and at the 69th session of the UN General Assembly on June 3, 2015, with the recognition of 193 states the Resolution on «Permanent Neutrality of Turkmenistan» was adopted for the second time. These historical resolutions are based on the principles of peace, humanity, and openness that the Turkmen people have pursued since ancient times, under its spiritual wealth, history, and national traditions.

Turkmen people celebrate Neutrality Day as a national holiday on February 2, 2017, that is, the Resolution on the proclamation of December 12 as «International Neutrality Day» was adopted at the 71st session of the UN General Assembly. Also based on the proposal put forward by our esteemed President at the 106th Plenary session of the 73rd session of the UN General Assembly, 2021 is declared to be as the «International Year of Peace and Trust». And this proves that the permanent Neutrality of Turkmenistan serves to ensure the well-being of all humankind.

The roots of our benevolent neutrality are based on the ancient history of the Turkmen people and it is a well-established principle for the spiritual world, moral values, and the consciousness of the nation. This principle has always been valued by our courageous ancestors. It is the principle that they adhered to the great notion that peace, friendship, and brotherhood could be established on earth forever. The statehood that they have built in the world served human life and destiny.

In this modern era, our esteemed President continuously develops and strengthens political-economic, cultural, and diplomatic relations with many countries of the world based on those principles of our ancestors. This in itself is clear proof of the resurgence of neighborhood diplomacy at the international level which is soaked with the spirit of cordial relations of our ancestors.


Akmyradov Agadurdy
Chief specialist of the Apparatus of the Central Commission
for Holding Elections and Referendums in Turkmenistan.